Disciple of INDYCAR Weblog

December 31, 2008

2009!?

Filed under: The Disciple Blogs — Disciple of INDYCAR @ 10:40 pm

This has nothing to do with racing, but it is good luck on New Years Day to consume black-eyed peas and, according to some, cabbage. I prefer them separately. With that in mind, New Years Day is about the only day I get to eat Hoppin’ John, unless I am in Bermuda or the Caribbean.

 

It is made with rice but I like it slow cooked with a ham bone and a little spicy sausage as well as collard greens. I’m also sautéing some onion and garlic to add, plus some special spices. One of the best products I have encountered in a long time is something called ‘Bacon Salt’ which contains neither salt nor bacon, but makes everything you sprinkle it on taste like bacon. Fabulous.

 

My primary point is a wish that my 400 or so daily readers have a great and happy new year, and eat well. We will hopefully see you at an Indy Race in 2009!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

