Disciple of INDYCAR Weblog

January 27, 2009

Nagging Questions

Filed under: The Disciple Blogs — Disciple of INDYCAR @ 2:06 am

Congratulations to 2004 Indy 500 Winner Buddy Rice for being part of the winning team in the sparsely attended Daytona 24-Hour endurance race. They broke Ganassi’s string and provided a great weekend of racing entertainment. That is something we all needed.

Buddy Rice is also the topic of Indy Racing discussion, and it centers mostly around where he might end up. Rubicon? PCM? D & R has hired yet another foreigner (pretty good show…and here’s hoping that team wins one or two in ’09), and the rest of the league is engaged in a larger than normal game of musical chairs with the 24-or-so seats there will probably be. The fine folks at Trackside Online do a really good job of helping keep score and if you follow Indy Racing, there are few better coverage choices.

Judging by the number of e-mails in the Defender in-box that arrived during my recent soirée in Las Vegas, I may have been missed. Much of it was the predictable hate mail from spelling and grammar challenged cart youth, but that is not surprising. It never is. What kind of surprises me is the general question I keep getting asked over and over again. I have answered several times in the past but some apparently do not yet have the scoop.

One of the quaint IRL hate sites (run by some guy down under) went under. Hate and delinquency can be expensive, and in addition to being thought challenged, the cart youth are evidently finance challenged as well. Karma is a bitch. Is the other one still around? I have not kept up with it. What that means is that I no longer post in cyberspace.

My traditional posting favorite (over 13,000) was Trackforum, but it will be two years in May since I’ve posted anything there. I was removed by the management for something I posted on a separate, unrelated, now defunct site. If I want to return they say I would have to change my Defender moniker to something they approve in advance and never allude to the fact Defender ever existed. Bending over in that fashion is not something I will ever be prepared to do. I would be honored to post there in the future, but only as Defender. I appreciate the ongoing concern, but if you want me to post there that is something you will have to take up with the management of that place.

Proprietors of other sites simply cave in to the hypocritical pressure of morons then allow their testicles to be removed. What a shame. I am perfectly happy to provide consistently colorful rumination here on the blog, and will on a mostly daily basis. You are more than welcome to comment as many do. I will only edit and/or report spam when the input is vile, vulgar or stupid. Thankfully, most responses are thoughtful and worthwhile, and I appreciate that.

Racing season is just about here, even if it is just NASCAR.

3 Comments »

  1. The Napcar season ends? huh…..hadn’t noticed.

    Comment by The American Mutt — January 27, 2009 @ 2:19 am | Reply

  2. Defender I noticed most of those hate sites wasted all their time dwelling on you and hating all things Hulman, George, Indy, and IRL. While the latter continues to exist, the hate sites have either ceased to exist or been reduced to the crawl of a thirsty man in the desert. I wonder how long that hate site will exist that’s run by the confused old trailer dweller in San Antonio.

    Comment by Robin Miller — January 27, 2009 @ 10:32 am | Reply

  3. Grand Am’s DP formula reminds me of the IRL’s original indy car formula with not allowing companies to just enter the series. Dallara had to take over Doran’s DP rights, but they haven’t sold any daytona prototurtles to other teams. Olds, Infiniti, Panoz, Riley & Scott, Chevrolet, and Toyota have left the IRL. I want Panoz and Lola back for 2011.

    Comment by rick — January 29, 2009 @ 11:09 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

