Disciple of INDYCAR Weblog

February 17, 2009

Getting Household Chores Done

Filed under: The Disciple Blogs — Disciple of INDYCAR @ 1:08 pm

My unofficial countdown to May generally begins with the conclusion of the Daytona 500 because it feels like racing season.  I watched the Daytona just like I watch the majority of other NASCAR events; while I was doing something else. NASCAR races are always high personal productivity times for me. This past Sunday included the completion of 2008 Form 1040, a repair of my leaking dishwasher, new roofs for the birdhouses, and three weeks of ironing, all while the race was being run.

The wife complains that every time I try to watch a NASCAR race by simply plopping my bulbous arse into the recliner I always wind up spilling the beer just before the snoring begins. That is no way to watch a race. The same thing happens when I watch hockey on TV. It is always better in person.

Personally, the ONLY place to REALLY watch NASCAR is in a grandstand at a short track. They just do not get it down on 1.5 milers and higher with the obvious exception of Talladega and to a lesser extent Daytona and Charlotte. Same with hockey. You have to be there.

It is all window dressing until Indy Racing begins anyway. Here is hoping they figure out eventually they need to lose the stupid temporary circuits and race on real tracks all the time.

1 Comment »

  1. I managed to stay awake for about 10 laps. I slept until just before the “big one”. PERFECT!

    Comment by Sam Hudd — February 17, 2009 @ 3:02 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

