Disciple of INDYCAR Weblog

May 19, 2010

Sophomore Indy 500: It’s A Neeewwww Traaackkk Record!

Filed under: The Disciple Blogs — Disciple of INDYCAR @ 2:13 am

It is personally hard to believe that is the seventh decade in which my body has been inside the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. First time in 1959, and at least once every year since. The 50s, 60s, 70s, 80s, 90s, 00s and now 2010. Fun with math. Growing old is fun! That means I have seen all significant speed records broken from 230 all the way back to 150. I thought we might see 240 or 250 fall and still may. The one that stands out the most, however, was 1962. That is when Parnelli conquered 150 in that roadster. It was also the first time I heard Tom Carnegie utter one of his most famous phrases.

The other thing I thought was cool might seem odd, but I was still only eight. Pat Vidan was the coolest flagman ever. The way he dressed up and waved that flag was artistic. Eight was still young enough to use clothespins to attach playing cards to bicycle spokes and ride those Huffys around the block (counterclockwise) as fast as we could. Every kid not on the bikes wanted to be Pat Vidan, so there would always be a kid with a checkered flag waving us home. If I couldn’t be a race car driver, I wanted to be Pat Vidan.

I was happy that Rodger Ward won the race for a second time but the family was sad Eddie Sachs fell short again.

It was good to see Rodger again in the Flag Room prior to a 500 before he died a few years back. Parnelli still looks good and we heard him on the radio the just other night. That driver generation will remain in my fond memories for as long as I stick around.

1 Comment »

  1. Well I remember that ‘500 too. I was very happy to see Ward win again, although the race was Parnelli’s until brake trouble slowed him. The real star, though, to me, was the way Eddie Sachs came from the ninth row to finish third. You don’t see many drives like that!

    Comment by DOUG — May 19, 2010 @ 2:39 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

